Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Oil and Filter Question

Oil and Filter Question

Can someone tell me the difference between a Suzuki OEM oil filter and an aftermarket filter such as a K&N filter? How about the different brands of oil or semi synthetic vs. 100% synthetic (which is better)?

Thanks - El Gato
    GSXR 750 '03 (YLW/BLK)

Hey man I would suggest staying with the OEM filter, unless you have some engine work that requires a different filter… as far as oil I would suggest Mobil 1 synthetic(100%)… unless you have the big bucks to buy the motorcycle oil. I usually change my oil a lot, so I don’t see then need to spend the big buck on fancy oil.. I stick with the Mobil 1 and the OEM filter.. also remember if your changing the oil your self.. to replace the crush washers .. they are a small thin washer that goes between the oil plug and the engine case.. I’m no expert but that has always worked for me..

Well, Gramps is hands down our resident expert on filters so I will let him field that one.

Differences in oil types ... well, one is a mix of petroleum and synthetic (for the "purists" who want the good stuff a synthetic oil gives). Synthetic is just that - 100% man-made, nothing sucked out of the ground. Most of the best synthetic oils are naturally the most expensive - Silkolene, Motul, Royal Purple. I've been hearing things in the grapevine so to speak about Mobil-1 MX4T and to stay away from it, as their quality has gone down. One of the best oils you can get is actually relatively low cost, the Amsoil high-perf motorcycle oil has been shown to do even better than the Silkolene stuff.

For a semi-syn, I've used the Castrol Actevo 10W40 oil with good results in my superhawk, though it's on Silkolene full synthetic now and will be going to Amsoil at my next change.