Thread: 89 FZR400 Need Help Carb Question

Board Newbie

89 FZR400 Need Help Carb Question

I have a 89 Yamaha FZR400 I am running individual air filters and a full V&H Pipe. I am currently jetting the carbs. I belive that I have the main jet that I need figured out. I am having the best luck with a 110 jet(had an 88 in there and the bike would not go over 8k/rpm). I have the needle clip set on the second spot from the top. I have the mixture screws set 2 turns out from the bottom. Bike is a little hard to start(have to crank it for a long time), Partial throtle(1/4-1/2) bike rides pretty good, WOT idle to 3.5k pretty good(a little boggy), 4k-8k really boggy, 8k-14k RUNS LIKE A BAT OUTA HELL. When I take it up to redline and shift really quick The bike bogs and loses alot of power till its back above 8k. When I start to get up into higher gears the midrange and (after-Shift) bog is increased(likely due to gear ratio) I am new to the carb tuning game and was wondering if anyone had some tips. Thanks in advance.

Re: 89 FZR400 Need Help Carb Question

Got any pics? I want an old FZR400 or a 600 and think they are beautiful bikes!

For help on the jets, check out www.fzrarchives.com/ipb
    Its a national FZR forum. Those guys know tons of stuff, and I'm sure if you did a quick search you might be able to get some answers.

Good luck!

Unless needed adjustments are very obvious, it's usually best to work on one circuit (pilots, needle position, mains, etc.) at a time as some crossover is to be expected. From your description, I'd next try to move the clip on the jet needle to the third position and test. Also, if you haven't already, check if leaning out the main jets one or two sizes at a time still gives strong running at high rpm. It could be that the engine is getting too much fuel. As a matter of fact, I'd do this before altering the jet needle position if not already done.