Thread: man Carl

man Carl

In Unix, on line help is requested via the "man" command (short for "manual pages"). So "man Carl" is a post about Carl

Yea yea, geek humor.

Back in 1987 or so, I was learning C (computer programming language). I'd picked up a copy of Borland TurboC because I was an employee of a tech company. It was nice and quick, easy to use and I was able to make it work (very important as you'll see).

I was in the process of learning C by converting a program I'd originally written in Basic on a Timex:Sinclair (around 1979) and converted to Megabasic to C. One thing I wanted to do was use a text windowing library to better organize my program. So I checked out the various BBS's I regularly logged in to and found several different DOS based libraries that would let me use such windowing features for my program. As a newbie to C programming, I really wanted a simple library and after several tries, found Mike Smedley's C Extended Library (CXL).

At the same time, Peter Norton came out with his Norton Guides. It was a tiny memory resident popup help system. It was excellent for programming. You would have a C norton guide and press Alt+F1 to bring up the window, find the function and be able write the right bit of code. Well he provided a compiler so you could create your own Norton Guide.

I used that compiler to convert Mike's CXL into a Norton Guides system so I could pop up the application programming interface (API) while I was learning C and using Mike's library to extend my program.