Thread: Bad alternator? What do you think?

Loopty
    Pronounced with an "oopty"

Bad alternator? What do you think?

So I hadn't driven my 92 Ranger for a while (6+ months?), and when I went to start it, the battery was dead. Battery was like 7 years old, so it was ready to be replaced regardless. Anyway, I bought a new battery for it a week or two ago, and had noticed the last few days I drove it that the battery sounded like it was going out when I started it in the morning (sounded slow, like almost not enough juice to turn her over). Today when I went to start it, it was pretty much dead. The starter turned over a few times really slow, then just started clicking. Do you think the alternator just isn't charging the battery, and it eventually died? Please give me your thoughts, I'm no mechanic...
    MRA 33 (Retired)
    502- RIP my brother

Re: Bad alternator? What do you think?

Quote Originally Posted by Hoopty";p="172209
    So I hadn't driven my 92 Ranger for a while (6+ months?), and when I went to start it, the battery was dead. Battery was like 7 years old, so it was ready to be replaced regardless. Anyway, I bought a new battery for it a week or two ago, and had noticed the last few days I drove it that the battery sounded like it was going out when I started it in the morning (sounded slow, like almost not enough juice to turn her over). Today when I went to start it, it was pretty much dead. The starter turned over a few times really slow, then just started clicking. Do you think the alternator just isn't charging the battery, and it eventually died? Please give me your thoughts, I'm no mechanic...
    Start it and put a volt-meter on the battery. If the alternator is putting out full current, the volt-meter will read about 14volts. Anything less and the alternator is not charging properly.
    Kim & Dean
    60th Anniversary R6 - '16 R1M

Loopty
    I don't have a volt-meter. Maybe my room mate does?
    MRA 33 (Retired)
    502- RIP my brother