Opinions plz

So, a little background info here. I was an ASE master tech for 15 years, so I'm plenty familiar with diagnostics, electronics, turning wrenches, etc. But that's with cars, and I haven't done it in awhile, so I'm rusty. Granted bikes aren't that much different, but just like cars, each make has their diagnostic "quirks", and I'm not familiar with them. Hoping a Kawi tech can chime in here.

Got a 2001 ZX6R 600-J2, 13k miles - the project bike from the other thread. It hasn't run in probably two years. Got it fired up tonight and found a problem with the primary ignition cutting out intermittently - probably the problem that got it initially sold and why it hasn't run for so long. Needs carb work too, but that's another story.

Here's what happens:
It'll run, then the ignition will cut out for a moment, then back on for awhile, then off for a moment and back on, usually in quick succession - enough to kill the engine. It'll continue to do this. If it's at idle, the engine dies (as expected). At higher RPMs, it'll cut out for a moment when the ignition glitches and catch itself when it comes back on and continue to run. It doesn't appear to be load related, but I could be wrong - it's got carb problems too, so it dies when I snap the throttle. The tach needle stays where it's at as the engine RPM's drop momentarily without spark. When it catches again, the tach needle snaps to the new, lower RPM. I do notice that the lights in the cluster dim momentarily when it glitches.