Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chain and sprocket replacement

Chain and sprocket replacement

Ok so I just took my R1 in to get the chain tightened and they said I need to replace the chain and sprockets, Im thinking about picking this set up

http://www.amazon.com/RK-Chain-Sproc...6458266&sr=8-3

And I was wondering what a shop up here charges to do the job or is it possible for me to do the job. This will be my first time. I have experience working on cars but I’m still learning on the bike any help would be great.

Re: Chain and sprocket replacement

if your gonna change all of it do a 520 conversion. It is doable by yourself if you have some mechanical knowledge. Involves removing the wheel, cutting the old chain off swapping the front sprocket then swapping the rear on the wheel , slap the new chain on and readjust your chain tension. If you have someone to help you out thats done it that will be a great help.
    -Travis-

Do NOT do a 520 conversion. Yes a lot of people like it, but unless you're racing and need that extra 10th on the track, stick with something that will last longer.

You will need a chain press to install the new chain. An impact wrench makes the front sprocket a snap but isn't necessary.

This isn't terribly difficult but it helps if someone here has time to show you how (a 6 pack can be a good bargaining tool). Good luck!

Quote Originally Posted by brennahm View Post
    Do NOT do a 520 conversion. Yes a lot of people like it, but unless you're racing and need that extra 10th on the track, stick with something that will last longer.

You will need a chain press to install the new chain. An impact wrench makes the front sprocket a snap but isn't necessary.

This isn't terribly difficult but it helps if someone here has time to show you how (a 6 pack can be a good bargaining tool). Good luck!