Thread: Who has ridden a slightly lowered bike? (Not slammed)

Who has ridden a slightly lowered bike? (Not slammed)

I have a really short inseam (28") and have been working on making my Daytona 675 more comfortable in terms of height. I already shaved the seat but there wasn't much to shave. I've been riding for about 4 years so I'm not a new rider. I use one leg at stops and its fine but not always.

This is my commuter, never tracked, and take it up to the twistys every now and then.

After reading on the 675 forums I found that some shorter folk have had good luck with lowering about 1". I bought a soupy's adjustable lowering link (turnbuckle style) and will be taking it to faster tomorrow to get it installed. Hopefully 1" in the rear and forks raised about 1/2" in the front.

For those who have ridden lowered bikes, and I'm not talking about "slammed bikes", what are your thoughts??

Senior Member Lifetime Supporter
    Site Admin

Re: Who has ridden a slightly lowered bike? (Not slammed)

Always lower the bike the same in the front as in the rear to keep from messing with the handling too much. There are other things that can be done to lower the bike if the 1/2" doesn't work for you. My ZX10R is lowered 1/2" and it made a huuuuggeee difference. If you find the bike is handling funny, take it to Dave Rose at STM Suspension in Ft Collins. He is a suspension genius.
    "With every broken bone, I swear I lived."

AKA "Devaclis"

Even lowering both the front and the rear you will have a different fork angle and the cornering will be changed a good deal. I experimented with this on 2 different bikes, one a pure sportbike and the other a nekkid SV650. I was never able to get the same feel or cornering performance as the stock configuration.

Corner turn in was faster and honestly less stable. Corner exiting at speed a crap shoot based on the radius of the turn.