Thread: Tire Question

Tire Question

I know tire threads are a lot like oil threads, but new tires come out all the time and I have a specific question.

Typically I always run high end supersports. I had a pair of Pirelli Diablo Supercorsas on my RSV and they were awesome, but like most super sticky supersport tires the rears wore down like crazy. Maybe 3000 miles tops. The BMW came with the new Metzelers, but again I'm at 3000 miles and going bald down the middle, plus I don't think they were quite as sticky as the Diablo Supercorsas. As much as I like to think I'm a pro roadracer, I still do a lot of highway miles.

Anyway, looking at new tires, I'm at a toss up between the Pirelli Diablo Supercorsas again, and the Pirelli Diablo Rosso II's. Both are supposed to have new, longer lasting compounds, but the Rosso II's are a triple compound, with a longer lasting center.

http://stores.sportbiketrackgear.com...l.bok?no=11440 Rosso II's
    http://stores.sportbiketrackgear.com...l.bok?no=15608 Supercorsas

Anyway, my question is this, are the mileage compound tires worth it? Will I have issues with reduced traction and grip versus a more high performance tire? Will I be able to get at least 6000 miles out of a rear tire like this? I've never used the mileage compound type types so I really don't know. As you can see, sportbiketrackgear.com has excellent prices on these tires, so money isn't really an issue, but if I'm only going to be able to get 20-30% more out of a compound tire, I would rather just go with the stickier option.
    '12 BMW S 1000 RR
    '11 Suzuki V-Strom DL-650 *SOLD*
    '07 Aprilia RSV R Factory *SOLD*

Re: Tire Question