Thread: Dirt Newbie - Many Questions

Dirt Newbie - Many Questions

Hey Guys,

I've ridden trails a few times over the years, but I want to get more track experience and I could use A LOT of help from the experts. My kid brother is into track riding but wants me to ride with him and I'm in way over my head. I did some ligament damage to my foot in August at Thunder Valley putting around with him and just last week got the very skeptical OK to start going to PT and doing some light jogging. I'd like to stop spending half a year off my foot, so I'm in serious need of improvement!

There are several problems with me riding on the track starting with... the fleshy bit atop the bike (me)! I've read and read and read some more about riding on dirt, but I could use some pointed instruction. Plain and simple - I'm a novice and need suggestions on good tracks/places to learn at (Thunder Valley too big for newbies? Just right?) and good people to follow me for a few laps and give me things to work on.

Next up is the bike I'm riding, it's a '98 YZ250 and I don't know if the bike is just shot (entirely plausible - unknown maintenance history) or the way I'm riding it is atrociously wrong. It's hand-me-down that was purchased used a few years ago (and not ridden much since) and it just doesn't run great in my hands. Even after lots of re-jetting, fiddling and profanity! Doesn't want to start, doesn't like to stay running once it is started, and is generally difficult to tame. I've ridden my fair share of sportbikes (half of which were injected, half not) and by comparison they all seemed easier to keep going on, even when riding hard. Should I take it to someone who can hum and haw over it much more proficiently or would investing in something smaller (CRF150) be a good learning tool?

I'm a completely open book, and I would love to be pointed in the right direction!

Thanks,
    Jim

Re: Dirt Newbie - Many Questions