Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rip Van Winkle

Rip Van Winkle

Hey all,

I've been riding for 20+ years but have been asleep for the past 10. What's new in sportbikes?

The 1999 R1 was such a huge jump, then the 2001 GSX-R1000. I got the K1 in 2003, then a K5 in 2009, and basically haven't looked at bikes since. Are most of the improvements in weight? Handling? Traction control? Brakes? Suspension? Chassis stiffness? Heated grips? Leopard print seats?

Please help educate the old & feeble.

Re: Rip Van Winkle

electronics

New R1
    Ducati 1199 or 1299
    BMW s1000rr (or HP4 if you have money)

Damn, thought this was a post saying Vanilla Ice died.

His real name is "Robert Matthew Van Winkle" so thought it was ; R.I.P. Van Winkle as in Vanila Ice
    Bulldog's Motto: F*ck around and I'm going to bite you!!!

wonder if he is still remodeling homes in florida...???

Thanks tecknojoe; I'll do some googling on those bikes. Can anyone who has one speak to if they love/hate the electronics? Do they mean you can be hamfisted on the throttle or brakes? When I was a young idiot I used to love wringing out my 600---you couldn't get in much trouble---but now that I'm an old idiot I'm a lot more careful about that. What happens if you get on a new S1000RR and go WOT? Some sort of traction control kick in? thanks

P.S. Sorry about scaring you about Vanilla Ice!
    Last edited by lth; Wed Apr 8th, 2015 at 08:44 AM. Reason: ice ice baby

Senior Member Moderator

Quote Originally Posted by tecknojoe View Post
    electronics

New R1
    Ducati 1199 or 1299
    BMW s1000rr (or HP4 if you have money)
    +1
    You can also add other bikes with competent electronics packages such as the Kawasaki ZX-10R and H2, Aprilia RSV4 RR/RF, EBR 1190RX. Really, the only 2015 model year supersport holdouts concerning electronics are the Honda CBR1000RR and the Suzuki GSX-R 1000. Additionally, the manufacturers with electronics packages are also working to meet/surpass 200 bhp.