Thread: Recommendations for first dirtbike?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Recommendations for first dirtbike?

Ok, so I've been riding street for 7 or 8 years and riding track for 4 of them, mostly on a 2007 Yamaha R6. I'm thinking I'd like to add a dirtbike to the stable, but I have zero dirt experiance and I'm having a lot of trouble narrowing down my selection. I'd love to here some recommendations. My price range is $2000 to $6000, but I'm leaning towards the low end if I can get a good and reliable bike without too many sacrifices. The high end is essentially there, because I'm really liking the idea of a 2012 KTM 350 SXF. I'm not sure what type of riding I'll be doing. I will try it up at IMI, on trails, or wherever. It does not have to be road legal, but wouldn't hurt. Otherwise I'm open to ideas, 2 stroke, 4 stroke, 250, 450, carbed, fuel injected, motox, enduro, etc.

Thanks,
    Matt

Re: Recommendations for first dirtbike?

Wr426f/wr450f
    I've got more flavor than a packet of macaroni.

Honda 50. Can't go wrong.

97-07 KLX300R
    --Dave
    2013 Honda VFR 1200F
    2014 Honda VFR800-SOLD
    2007 Honda VFR800-SOLD

2004 Kawasaki KLX300R

Was quite happy with my KLX250 to learn the basics. WR250X are nice too, liquid cooled, 6 speeds. Downside is not too much fun on roads above 50mph getting to the trailhead. Depends, do you want to do singletrack or motoX? Enduro or dirt jumping?

If I were going to get back into dirt: KTM 350 EXC-F
    Last edited by asp_125; Thu Jul 23rd, 2015 at 04:58 PM.
    When life throws you curves, aim for the apex
    Current stable:09 Thruxton \ 09 FZ6S2
    Sold List:97 Ninja500R, 03 SV650K3, 01 Ducati 750Sport, 73 CB350/4, 03 F650GSA, 08 Gixxer600, 03 Gixxer600, 91 VFR750F, 09 KLX250, 06 Thruxton 900, 02 VFR800, 08 Spyder RS, 12 Street TripleR, 09 KLX250S, 16 KTMRC390, 10 F650GS
    my Facebook, SpeedShots
    Quote Originally Posted by salsashark View Post