Thread: New tires - break in procedure

New tires - break in procedure

Hey all! Getting some new Michelin Pilot Powers put on my SV this afternoon - very excited. Have heard great things about these tires!

As I am new to riding (1 year) and this is my first new set, can I get some tips on the proper break in procedure for new tires? I know people have talked about "scrubbing in" their tires. Any advice would be most appreciated.

Thanks!
    Neal
    "Look, Maude, I'm sorry your step-mom's a nympho...ahhh, you got any Kahlua?" -The Dude

2003 Suzuki SV650S - Silver

now with bi-turbo goodness Site Admin Mel's Avatar
    Tires are a lil slick when you first get them on. "scrubbing in" would just be the process of riding on them to get the slick stuff off before you go all hog wild with them. Just take it easy for a lil bit (a weeK?) and you will be just fine.
    Asshole Nazi devil moderator out to get each and every one of you

I'm pumped... Let's let the healing begin! Lifetime Supporter ~Barn~'s Avatar
    What'up Neal!

Yeah... Tires have a EDIT: "releasing agent" on them, when they are new. You'll be fine so long as you don't take any full zoot corners at lean.

It'll be all be off in 50/60/80 miles or so, and then you can hammer on them.

More than anything, keep up on your tire pressure. I'm sure you realize this though. 37f/38r is what the Michelin guys were recommending for the Pilot Powers, out at Miller. If you gonna have a passenger or something though, bump that up a couple 2 or 3 pounds.
    ~Brandon~
    Aprilia RSV 1000 R Factory - "Gemma"
    MV Agusta F3 800 - "Amy Lou"
    Rattan Fat Bear Plus - "Lynda"
    (720) 935-6438
    I rarely think of motorcycles without a little yearning. They are about moving, and humans, I think, yearn to move – it’s in our cells, in our desires. We quiet our babies with cyclic movement, and we quiet ourselves by going.
    Melissa Holbrook Pierson

Geriatric Curmudgeon Lifetime Supporter Nick_Ninja's Avatar