Thread: Tire changing kit on the trail.

Tire changing kit on the trail.

I was at Fays over the lunch hour picking up some bolts, and looked at putting together a tire changing kit for the trail. Remember, dirt noob here.

What kind of tire irons (spoons) are easiest for a noob to use on the trail? There were simple ones that looked like bent pieces of steel bar, and other longer ones that were spoon shaped and had a screwdriver handle. I suppose the longer ones have better leverage but are bulky to carry on the trail. Also, should I get 2 or three of them? Are rim protectors really needed? Worse case, I bought a bunch of industrial zip ties so at least I can limp back to the trailhead.
    Last edited by asp_125; Wed Jul 3rd, 2013 at 01:17 PM.
    When life throws you curves, aim for the apex
    Current stable:09 Thruxton \ 09 FZ6S2
    Sold List:97 Ninja500R, 03 SV650K3, 01 Ducati 750Sport, 73 CB350/4, 03 F650GSA, 08 Gixxer600, 03 Gixxer600, 91 VFR750F, 09 KLX250, 06 Thruxton 900, 02 VFR800, 08 Spyder RS, 12 Street TripleR, 09 KLX250S, 16 KTMRC390, 10 F650GS
    my Facebook, SpeedShots
    Quote Originally Posted by salsashark View Post
    ... Motorcycles are kind of like Baskin Robbins... You're looking at 31 flavors of ice cream, don't you kind of want to know what they all taste like?...

Re: Tire changing kit on the trail.

Yeah I was just looking at Rockymountainadv.com and wanted to pick up a nice tire changing trail kit. I just don't know what to get. I think I'm going to go with a bigger Mtn Bike setup that i'm used to.

3 irons - the simple ones that are flat and have a little bead lip
    Rim Protectors - cheap
    Patches/some sort of sewing string and material
    Bicycle Pump or Co2 cartridge

I want to be able to fit all of this into a little tube or fender bag
    Current bike: 2005.5 KTM 950 Adventure (63k miles)