Thread: My 3000 mile ride/vacation to the PCH on an '06 R1

My 3000 mile ride/vacation to the PCH on an '06 R1

Just got back from my vacation on Thursday May 29th. Scratched one off the bucket list.....to ride up the PCH (not the entire thing, but good enough)

Thought I would do a mini-write up. Not very picture heavy as I was more focused on doing the ride then stopping for a 100 pictures along the way. I also had a go-pro with some ok footage that I haven't gone through and made a video yet. I'm new to using one and didn't get the best footage due to learning on the go, battery not lasting as long as I thought it would, and filling a 32g micro-SD before I got to my destination made for too much crap and will need to edit out a lot of the boring. I'll get to that later. Anyway

The week before I went completely over the bike. New front tire, New rear brake pads, flush brake fluid, flushed coolant, engine oil, spark plugs, air filter, cleaned/adjusted/lubed chain. Wired up a connector for my phone so I could stream music and navigation to my Sena smh10.

I wanted to pack as light as possible, so all I had was what I could fit in my tank bag, and a trunk bag. Sandals, underwear, socks, shorts, clear visor for if I need to ride at night, overnight stuff I.E. tooth paste/brush/deoderant etc... Extra tools, chain lube, and my 9mm just in case.

Day 1: Left around 7:30 A.M. Wednesday May 21st and headed west on I-70. Stopped in Green River UT to gas up and get some lunch. Found this little place called La Veracruzana and was amazed how good the food was, a nice little surprise. Got back on the road and headed to I-15. I have an old Vegas buddy who owns a condo in Brian Head UT that he let me use for the night so that's where I ended day 1. Total miles about 600.