Thread: Thinking about full-timing in a motorhome for a year or two

Thinking about full-timing in a motorhome for a year or two

We don't have any kids, my wife has some health issues that are exacerbated by altitude, and I'm tired of living the same day, every day.

My wife and I are considering selling our home in Aurora, paring down our life and going in a motorhome for a year or two. My thought is to sell our house here but keep my townhome in the Springs so we have a place to come back to whenever we want. I work full time as a teleworker and need to pitch this to my employer. I don't think it will be an issue as long as I can be someplace every M-F with a good internet connection. So, we'd travel on weekends, setup someplace for at least a week, maybe longer, and then move someplace else.

I'm thinking that if we make the right choices regarding motorhomes (not new, reliable platform, relatively basic), we can live on my income and my wife can takes some time off. If we're going to be someplace for a month or so, she might get a job in a store as a checker or something. Maybe she can start blogging and earn a little. I don't know but others are doing it. We might even be able to rent my townhome in the Springs as a fully furnished place for short durations. It has been a rental property for 9 years now so that wouldn't be anything too new. The newest part would be letting a rental agency handle it.

Has anyone here done this? I'm researching the hell out of it but any input is appreciated.

Re: Thinking about full-timing in a motorhome for a year or two

Nothing to add except that the idea sounds like the adventure of a lifetime.
    Tom
    '07 ZX-6R
    '12 1199 Panigale S

aka - The Devil Lifetime Supporter
    Site Admin

Talk to Jeff and Anne (asp125)

They did this for at least a year.

Gold Member

Its a different world living on the open road. Doing it in the winter sucks because of storms but summer the price of fuel is crazy.